which unit performs auxiliary functions, the Department is divided into five branches: the National Parks Branch administers the National Parks and National Historic Parks of Canada, National Historic Sites, and wildlife matters coming within the jurisdiction of the Federal Government, and has charge of the National Museum of Canada; the Engineering and Water Resources Branch is responsible for the investigation of water-power resources, for the administration of federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Water Conservation Assistance Act and for federal interests in certain joint federal-provincial construction projects; the Northern Administration and Lands Branch is responsible for the administration of rederal Acts, Territorial ordinances and regulations pertaining to the government of the Northwest Territorial, for the conduct of certain business arising from the general administration of the Yakon Territory, for the administration of natural resources in these Territories, and for Eskimo affairs, as well as for certain lands and mineral rights in the provinces vested in the Crown in the right of Canada; the Forestry Branch conducts investigations in the protection and utilization of the forest resources of Canada, maintains forest experiment stations and forest products laboratories and administers federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Forestry Act; and the Canadian Government Travel Bureau promotes the tourist industry by encouraging tourist travel from abroad and interprovincial travel in Canada.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources is also responsible to Parliament for the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board, the Northwest Territories Power Commission, the National Battlefields Commission, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board, and the Advisory Board on Wildlife Protection. The Deputy Minister is Commissioner of the Northwest Territories.

Post Office Department.—Administration and operation of the Postal Service under the Postmaster General include: supervision of all phases of postal activity including personnel, mail handling, postal accommodation, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of money order and savings bank business.

Public Archives.—The Public Archives was founded in 1872 and is administered by the Dominion Archivist who has the rank of a Deputy Minister and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Its purpose is to assemble and make available to the public a comprehensive collection of historical source material relating to the history of Canada. Major emphasis is placed upon official records of the Government, and the personal papers of political leaders and other prominent figures. These are supplemented by copies of many records in the British and French archives that relate to Canada, a fine map collection, a historical library, and many prints, paintings and photographs.

Department of Public Printing and Stationery.—This Department was established in 1886 and is in the charge of the Queen's Printer and Controller of Stationery.

The Department is responsible for supplying all requirements of printing and stationery to Parliament and Departments of the Canadian Government; the free distribution and sale of all public documents or papers to the public; the publication of the *Statutes of Canada*, the *Canada Gazette*, and all departmental reports, papers, etc., required to be published by authority of the Governor General in Council.

The Department of Public Printing and Stationery is under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State.

Department of Public Works.—This Department was constituted in 1867 and is responsible for the management, charge and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging and navigable waters protection work. The Department maintains architectural and engineering staffs in each province in addition to the Administrative, Architectural, Engineering and Purchasing and Stores Branches at Ottawa.

The Minister of Public Works is responsible to Parliament for the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation and for federal interests in the Trans-Canada Highway.

Department of the Secretary of State.—The Department of the Secretary of State was constituted in its present form in 1873. The Secretary of State is the official spokesman of the Federal Government as well as the medium of communication between the Federal and Provincial Governments, all correspondence between the Governments being conducted through his Department with the Lieutenant-Governors. He is the custodian of the Great Seal of Canada and the Privy Seal of the Governor General as well as being the channel through which the general public may approach the Crown.

The Secretary of State is the Registrar General of Canada, registering all proclamations, commissions, licences, warrants, writs and other instruments issued under the Great Seal and certain instruments issued under the Privy Seal. He is responsible for the collection and tabling of parliamentary returns.